Athens Youth Symphony | providing the finest orchestral and performance opportunities for students in Northeast Georgia

Spring 2010 Concert

AYS concerts are free and open to the public

May 2010 Program

Sunday, May 16, 2010
in Hugh Hodgson concert hall
at the UGA Performing Arts Center
Directions | Roster 

The Program

Solemn Processional from Kaleidoscope William Hofeldt
(1951 -
Pierre’s Chanson Edmund Siennicki
(1920 -
Concert Strings
Spring from The Four Seasons Antonio Vivaldi
(1678 -1741)
arr. Deborah Baker Monday
Boulevard of Broken Dreams Green Day
arr. Bob Phillips
Russian Sailors’ Dance Reinhold Gliere
arr. Michael Story
Gaelic Castle Soon Hee Newbold
(1974 -

Combined Orchestras
Debra Schab, Conductor

- Intermission -

The Sound of Music
Selection for Orchestra
Richard Rodgers
Oscar Hammerstein II
arr. Robert Russell Bennett
Jennifer Rae Litowich, Conductor

Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op.15
    Allegro con brio

Ludwig van Beethoven
Alois Cerbu, piano

Capriccio Espagnol, Op.34
     I. Alborada-Vivo e strepitoso
    II. Variazioni- Andante con moto
    III. Alborada
    IV. Scena e canto gitano- Allegretto
    V. Fandango asturiano

Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Athens Youth Symphony

Karl Schab, Conductor